University of Calcutta – Admission to Ph.D. Programme in Law



 The Faculty of Law / Department of Law, University of Calcutta has six affiliated Law Colleges imparting 5 years B.A. LL. B. Course. The Departmentincluding two other affiliated Law Colleges (Jogesh Chandra Chaudhury Law College and South Calcutta Law College) also imparts B.A. LL. B (Honours) Course. Besides, the Department imparts 2 years LL.M. Course as well as Ph.D. Programme. The Department also provides Post-Doctoral research (LL.D.) facilities in appropriate cases. The Department of Law, University of Calcutta is in present position since 1983.

Eligibility: LLM

Procedure for Applying: 
Applications are invited for admission to Ph.D programme in Law, in the Department of Law, University of Calcutta. Eligible candidates [having Master’s Degree in Law]should apply in the prescribed form along with an application fees of Rs. 100/-(in cash) through a challan obtained from the cash counter, Hazra Campus.

The filled-up forms along with the requisite fee by C.U. challan are to be submitted between 12.30 to 3.00 p.m. on all working days at the office of the Department of Law (1st floor) Hazra Campus, C.U. The eligible candidates will have to appear both in a written examination of 2 (two) hours duration to be held in this Department on 09/03/2013 at 12 noon and aViva-Voce, the date of which will be notified on the departmental notice board. Those candidates who have already passed JRF / NET need not appear at the written examination. Reservation policy will be followed as per State Government and University norms.

No. of Seats: 12

The last date of submission of application form is 8th March, 2013.

Prof. (Dr.) S. S. Chatterji
Faculty of Law,
Department of Law,
University of Calcutta,
51/1, Hazra road,
Kolkata – 700019
Phone: 033-24411495, +91-9331915273, +91-9331996120

Subscribe to Latest Posts !

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Signup for our newsletter and get notified when we publish new articles for free!