RGNUL’S Parliamentary Debate: AGAHI’17, Prizes Worth Rs. 62,000: Register by Aug 31 2017. (Patiala, Oct 6-8)


These rules will be hereby referred to as the RGNUL parliamentary debate rules and must be conformed to whilst participating for this very edition of the Agahi.
The 7th edition of Agahi 2017 will follow the ‘3-on-3’ Asian parliamentary style of debating governed by the following rules, regulations, and guidelines.


a. Each debating match will consist of two teams; one to propose the motion and one to oppose it. The team proposing may be known as ‘The Proposition’, ‘The Affirmative’ or ‘The Government’. The team opposing may be known as ‘The Opposition’ or ‘The Negative’. Teams will be designated as the Proposition or the Opposition for each round of the competition.

b. Each debate shall be adjudicated upon by a panel comprising of an odd number of adjudicators. One of these shall be designated as Chairperson. In situations as per the discretion of the adjudication core (only in rounds before the ‘Break’), a debate may be adjudicated by a single experienced adjudicator.

c. Each debate shall be timed by a timekeeper. In the absence of a timekeeper, a member of the adjudication panel will time the speeches.

d. Teams will comprise the following members.

1. Prime Minister, or First Affirmative.

2. Deputy Prime Minister, or Second Affirmative

3. Government Whip, or Third Affirmative.

1. Leader of the Opposition, or First Negative.
2. Deputy Leader of the Opposition, or Second Negative.
3. Opposition Whip, or Third Negative.
e. Debaters will speak in the following order:
i. Prime Minister
ii. Leader of Opposition
iii. Deputy Prime Minister
iv. Deputy Leader of Opposition
v. Government Whip
vi. Opposition Whip
vii. Opposition reply
viii. Government reply

f. Common minute will not be given within reply speeches.

g. Speakers not ‘holding the floor’ may not rise during a speech unless it is to offer a ‘Point of Information’ (see Part Five of this document). Speakers doing so, or considered to be heckling, barracking or whose behaviour is interfering with the acceptable course of a debate will be declared ‘out of order’ or will be ‘called to order’ by the Chairperson.

The following are to be considered:

1. Vocal Style: Volume, clarity, pronunciation, pace, intonation, fluency, confidence, and authority.
2. Language: Conversational.
3. Use of notes: Should not distract, should not be read.
4. Eye Contact: With audience.
5. Gesture: Natural, appropriate.
6. Stance
7. Dress: (only an issue if really inappropriate to the place or occasion).
8. Sincerity: Believability
9. Personal Attacks
10. Humour: Effectiveness of and appropriateness.


  • Best Team:  ₹21000
  • Second Best Team: ₹12000
  • Best Adjudicator: ₹7000
  • And other prizes worth ₹22000 at stake too

Registration Fee

  • Independent Adjudicator : ₹1000/-
  • Team (with Adjudicator) : ₹3600/-

Contact Details

Dr.Tanya Mander ([email protected]), Ms. Kanika Jamwal (8872264897)      

For more information click here